On July 5, 2016, at 5:18 am (CET), NASA’s Juno interplanetary probe will be inserted into orbit around Jupiter, after a journey of five years. The University of Liège (ULg) has two direct involvements in this major mission to further our knowledge of the Solar System: the Space Centre Liège provided a vital component of one of the instruments aboard the probe, and astrophysicists at ULg are among the few European official co-investigators on the mission.

Launched in August 2011 from Cape Canaveral, and having traveled nearly 3 billion kilometers during a five-year cruise (including a fly-by of Earth in 2013), Juno is about to commence a unique scientific mission that will last a year and a half.

On July 5, 2016, Juno’s main engine will fire to slow the probe down and insert it into orbit around Jupiter. The end of this 35-minute manoeuvre is particularly critical — the slightest mistake could plunge Juno into the atmosphere of Jupiter or bounce it off into the outer solar system. If successful, this will mark the start of science operations of the mission.

As the first mission to go into an elliptical orbit over Jupiter’s poles, Juno’s challenge is to explore unknown regions of the Jupiter’s magnetosphere. The gas giant, Jupiter, is the largest planet in our Solar System and has influenced its history. There are many questions about Jupiter. How was it created? What is it made of? What’s hidden below its swirling clouds? What’s its magnetic field? NASA’s Juno mission aims to answer these questions and others, which could explain aspects of our Earth and the appearance of life.

The dual role of the University of Liège

The University of Liège is directly involved in Juno in two ways. On the design side, one of the essential parts of the ultraviolet telescope on board the probe — the input mirror and the drive motor of the spectrograph (a “scan mirror UVS”) — was designed and tested by the Space Centre of Liège. Astrophysicists at the STAR (Space sciences, Technologies and Astrophysics Research) unit of the University of Liège are also involved in the scientific analysis of data from the mission, as members of the Laboratoire de Physique Atmosphérique et Planétaire (LPAP) are among the few European official co-investigator of the mission.

Researchers from the University of Liège are primarily interested in the powerful auroras that appear at the poles of the giant planet,” says Denis Grodent, astrophysicist and director of the Atmospheric and Planetary Physics Laboratory. “The instruments on board the probe will explore the interior of Jupiter and its space environment in order to understand how this giant planet formed and, by extension, to find out more about the origins of the planets in our solar system as we know it today.

The University of Liège is closely involved in other Jupiter observation missions.

Juno is the first probe entirely powered by solar panels to visit the outer solar system. However, it will receive massive doses of radiation that will limit the lifetime of its instruments and electronics to within two years. At the end of its mission, the spacecraft will be sent into Jupiter’s atmosphere to burn up, in order to eliminate any risk of contact with the planet’s potentially habitable moons, Ganymede and Europe.

By 2030, these icy bodies will be under investigation via two new missions to Jupiter: the ESA-led JUICE and NASA-led Europa. The University of Liège is again associated with two instruments, as well as the JUICE mission’s solar panels, which are currently undergoing testing at the Centre Spatial de Liège. Researchers in the STAR astrophysical research unit will be officially involved in both missions.

In addition, the ULg LPAP has obtained the green light from the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI) for an observation programme of Jupiter’s auroras using the Hubble Space Telescope (HST). This is one of the biggest HST observation programs of the solar system (151 orbits) that has ever been accepted. It will run in support of the Juno mission. Denis Grodent is the head of the international team of the project, along with colleagues Bonfond Bertrand, Jean-Claude Gerard and Aikaterini Radioti.

About Jupiter

The fifth planet out from the Sun, Jupiter contains more than twice the mass of all the other planets of the Solar System. Jupiter is a gas giant planet and has a huge magnetic field, and can be seen as the focus of a kind of miniature solar system, consisting of dozens of moons. The planet’s swirling cloud bands are punctuated by massive storms like the Great Red Spot, which has raged for hundreds of years.

Giant planets like Jupiter are considered cornerstones in the formation of the Solar System, as they were assembled early in the process. Moreover, their enormous mass has shaped the orbits of other objects (planets, asteroids, comets) within the planetary system.

Although the basic story of the origin of Jupiter has been reconstructed, important questions remain – including the amount of water in its composition, and therefore oxygen. This gas giant holds clues to the origin of the solar system.

About the Laboratoire de Physique Atmosphérique et Planétaire (LPAP)

The Laboratoire de Physique Atmosphérique et Planétaire (LPAP) of the University of Liege specialises in the study of UV auroral emissions from Jupiter and Saturn. It studies the origin of magnetospheric particles creating these auroral lights and their effects on atmospheric structure. These studies are based on data acquired by the Hubble Space Telescope (HST), the Galileo satellite (Jupiter) and Cassini (Saturn). The Laboratory is also involved in the mission Hisaki (JAXA), Juno (NASA) and the future JUICE Mission (ESA).

www.lpap.ulg.ac.be/Juno

More about Jupiter’s auroras: http://reflexions.ulg.ac.be/cms/c_391269/en/spotlight-on-jupiters-aurorae

Images and videos

Images, videos and infos on the NASA websit :  http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/news/press_kits/juno/

Scientific involvements in this project : www.europlanet-eu.org/juno-europe/

Le 5 juillet 2016, à 5h18 du matin (heure belge), la sonde interplanétaire NASA Juno sera insérée en orbite autour de Jupiter, après 5 années de transit. L’Université de Liège est directement associée à cette mission majeure pour la connaissance du système solaire, et ce à double titre. D’une part, le Centre spatial de Liège a fourni une pièce essentielle du télescope à bord de la sonde et d’autre part les astrophysiciens de l’ULg font partie des rares co-investigateurs officiels européens de la mission.

Lancée en août 2011 depuis la base de Cape Canaveral, ayant parcouru près de 3 milliards de kilomètres en 5 années de croisière – incluant un passage proche de la Terre en 2013 –, la sonde interplanétaire Juno s’apprête à entamer sa mission inédite qui durera un an et demi.

Ce 5 juillet 2016, le moteur principal de la sonde va en effet être rallumé afin de la ralentir et la satelliser autour de Jupiter. La fin de cette manœuvre de 35 minutes particulièrement critique – la moindre erreur risque de plonger Juno dans l’atmosphère de Jupiter ou de la faire rebondir vers les confins du système solaire – marquera le début des opérations scientifiques de la mission.

Placée sur une orbite elliptique polaire inédite, Juno a pour défi d’explorer des régions inconnues de la magnétosphère de Jupiter. Géante gazeuse, Jupiter a influencé toute l’histoire du système solaire, dont elle est la plus grosse planète. Comment a-t-elle été créée ? De quoi est-elle composée ? Que cachent ses nuages tourbillonnants ? De quoi est fait son champ magnétique ? Elucider de nombreuses questions concernant Jupiter, qui permettraient d’expliquer des aspects de notre Terre et de l’apparition de la vie : tel est l’objectif de la mission Juno de la NASA.

Le double rôle de l’Université de Liège

Dans cette mission, l’Université de Liège intervient directement, à deux titres. D’une part pour la conception, puisque l’une des pièces essentielles du télescope ultraviolet embarqué à bord de la sonde – le miroir d’entrée et le moteur d’entraînement du spectrographe (un « UVS scan mirror ») – a été conçu et testé par le Centre spatial de Liège.  D’autre part pour l’analyse scientifique de l’opération, puisque les astrophysiciens de l’unité de recherche STAR de l’ULg (Space sciences, Technologies and Astrophysics Research), au sein du Laboratoire de Physique atmosphérique et planétaire (LPAP), comptent parmi les rares co-investigateurs officiels européens de la mission.

« Les chercheurs de l’Université de Liège sont principalement intéressés par les puissantes aurores qui apparaissent aux pôles de la planète géante, explique Denis Grodent, astrophysicien et directeur du Laboratoire de Physique Atmosphérique et Planétaire. Les instruments à bord de la sonde permettront d’explorer l’intérieur de Jupiter et son environnement spatial, de façon à comprendre comment cette planète géante s’est formée et, par extension, à déterminer quelle suite d’évènements a pu donner naissance aux planètes de notre système solaire tel que nous le connaissons aujourd’hui ».

L’ULg étroitement impliquée dans d’autres missions d’observation de Jupiter

Première sonde entièrement alimentée par des panneaux solaires à visiter le système solaire externe, Juno recevra des doses massives de radiation qui limiteront la durée de vie de ses instruments et de son matériel électronique à moins de deux ans. A la fin de sa mission, la sonde sera intentionnellement précipitée et désintégrée dans l’atmosphère de Jupiter, de manière à éliminer tout risque de contact avec ses lunes habitables, Ganymède et Europe.

Ces deux dernières seront étudiées vers 2030, via deux nouvelles missions vers Jupiter : ESA-JUICE et NASA-Europa. L’Université de Liège y est à nouveau associée puisque deux instruments ainsi que des panneaux solaires de la mission JUICE sont actuellement en cours de test au Centre Spatial de Liège tandis que les chercheurs en astrophysiques de l’unité de recherche STAR seront officiellement impliqués dans ces deux explorations.

Par ailleurs, le Laboratoire de Physique Atmosphérique et Planétaire de l’ULg vient d’obtenir le feu vert du Space Telescope Science Institute pour un programme d’observation des aurores de Jupiter, avec le Téléscope spatial Hubble (HST). Il s’agit de l’un des plus gros programmes d’observation HST du système solaire (151 orbites) jamais accepté. Il sera exécuté en support à la mission Juno. Denis Grodent se trouve à la tête de l’équipe internationale de ce projet, avec ses collègues Bertrand Bonfond, Jean-Claude Gérard et Aikaterini Radioti.

Click edit button to change this text.

En savoir plus sur les aurores de Jupiter

>> www.reflexions.ulg.ac.be/OriginesAuroresJupiter

Images et vidéos

Images, vidéos et infos sur le site de la NASA :  http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/news/press_kits/juno/

Apports scientifiques européens dans le projet : www.europlanet-eu.org/juno-europe/

A propos de Jupiter, plus grosse planète du système solaire

Cinquième planète par sa distance au soleil, Jupiter concentre plus de deux fois la masse de l’ensemble des autres planètes du système solaire. Planète géante de gaz et dotée d’un champ magnétique énorme, Jupiter comporte une sorte de système solaire miniature, composé de dizaines de lunes. Ses rayures tourbillonnantes de nuages ​​sont ponctuées par des tempêtes massives, telle la grande tache rouge.

Les planètes géantes comme Jupiter sont considérées comme des pierres angulaires dans la formation des planètes car elles ont été assemblées au début du processus. Par ailleurs, leur énorme masse a  permis de façonner les orbites des autres objets (planètes, astéroïdes, comètes) du système planétaire.

Bien que l’histoire de base de l’origine de Jupiter ait été reconstituée, des questions importantes demeurent – notamment sur sa composition en eau, et donc en oxygène. Ce géant gazier détient des indices sur l’origine du système solaire.